Skip to content

National Advisory Committee

The National Advisory Committee brings together training professionals from Canada’s police and public safety sector to provide expert advice on issues ranging from course topic selection to the planning of the annual Stanhope Conference.

Members of the National Advisory Committee:


Paul Hebert, Committee Chair

Director, Ontario Police College


Betty Froese, Committee Vice Chair

Manager, Learning and Development, Vancouver Police Department


Blair Steer

Inspector, York Regional Police Service


Brad McCallum

Chief Superintendent, Ontario Provincial Police


Darla Blackmore

Manager, Learning and Development, Calgary Police Service


David DeAngelis

Inspector, Peel Regional Police Service


Deborah Bourne

Superintendent, RCMP, E Division


Devon Racicot

Staff Sergeant, Saskatoon Police Service


Geneviève Lizée

Director, Research, Expertise and Teaching, École nationale de police du Québec


Jack Crilly 

Inspector, Toronto Police Service


Jason Colon

Inpector, Manitoba First Nations Police


Natalina Keats 

Director, National Learning Services, RCMP


Sean O’Brien

Sergeant, Toronto Police Service


Simon Paré

Deputy Director General, Learning and Development, Public Safety Canada


Stephanie Johnson

Superintendent, Halifax Regional Police Service


Tom Stamatakis

President, Canadian Police Association

Join a Subcommittee!

Our four NAC subcommittees explore current issues impacting police learning and education. 

If you are a member of a Canadian public safety organization with time, energy, and ideas, please consider joining one of our subcommittees. Contact for more information.


Collaboration & Engagement

Facilitates collaboration among police and public safety organizations to leverage knowledge, experience, and best practices.

  • Connecting with current and future leaders
  • Promoting CPKN’s activities to current and future leaders and supporting organizations
  • Expanding opportunities to discuss issues and share knowledge across the network
  • Planning a Stanhope Conference session on collaboration and engagement


Learning Needs

Helps ensure CPKN courses and resources are relevant, high-quality, and credible.

  • Continue to provide relevant and cost-effective technology-enhanced learning
  • Provide consistent content and delivery on subject matters of national significance
  • Planning a Stanhope Conference session on learning needs


Innovation and Best Practices

Works within the policing sector to effectively integrate learning innovation and educational best practices. The committee will achieve this goal by:

  • Helping to define quality improvement processes and course standards
  • Ensuring the delivery of innovative learning solutions
  • Supporting consistency in curriculum, course, and instructional development
  • Facilitating the integration of research and evaluation into learning solutions
  • Planning a Stanhope Conference session on innovation and best practices



Advises on competency-related practices, issues, and trends for the policing community.

  • Modernizing the competency framework to align learning and development with performance
  • Planning a Stanhope Conference session on competencies