Course Catalogue

Introduction to Human Sources

Introduction to Human Sources

Human sources can hold the key to unsolved crimes. Information that would otherwise be difficult or impossible to obtain can be discovered by investigators who recruit and develop human sources. In order to realize the full potential of this investigative tool, investigators must become proficient at techniques for developing and maintaining strong, professional relationships with human sources.

Introduction to Human Sources introduces the process of contacting, assessing, handling, coding and remunerating human sources while adhering to case law and policy. In addition to examining processes and best practices associated with handling human sources with emphasis on confidential informants, this course reviews safety and security considerations associated with managing a human source. It also addresses administrative processes such as documenting meetings with confidential informants, making financial payments, recovering expenses, and ensuring supervisor involvement.

 

Learning Objectives

Upon completion of this course, you will be able to:

  • Recognize the importance of developing and maintaining strong, professional relationships with human sources
  • Recognize the safety and security considerations associated with managing a human source
  • Identify the administrative processes associated with coding confidential informants, documenting meetings with confidential informants, making financial payments, recovering expenses, and ensuring supervisor involvement
  • Identify how to deal with certain difficult situations
  • Recognize how confidential information can lead to evidence
  • Identify the policies that guide the professional and ethical management of human sources

 

Target Audience

This course is designed for police officers.

 

Content Provider

This course was developed by the Human Source Program Development Unit (HSPDU) and the Learning and Development Branch of the RCMP.


Price: $50.00 ($25.00 for RCMP)

Content Provider: RCMP - Human Source Program Development Unit

Language: English / French

Length: 4 hours


Release Date: 2016-08-10

Répertoire des cours

Introduction aux sources humaines

Introduction aux sources humaines

Les sources humaines peuvent apporter un éclairage essentiel pour résoudre des crimes non élucidés. Les enquêteurs qui recrutent et utilisent des sources humaines peuvent découvrir de l’information qui serait autrement difficile ou impossible à obtenir. Afin de tirer tout le parti possible de cet outil d’enquête, ils doivent maîtriser les techniques permettant d’établir et d’entretenir des rapports solides et professionnels avec des sources humaines.

Le cours Introduction aux sources humaines aborde la démarche consistant à établir un contact avec des sources humaines, à les évaluer, à les prendre en charge, à les matriculer et à les rémunérer en respectant la jurisprudence et les politiques. En plus d’examiner les processus et les pratiques exemplaires de gestion des sources humaines et plus particulièrement des informateurs confidentiels, le cours passe en revue les facteurs de sécurité et de protection associés à la gestion d’une source humaine. Il traite aussi de formalités administratives telles que la façon de consigner les rencontres avec les informateurs confidentiels, de leur verser des paiements, de recouvrer les dépenses et d’assurer la participation du superviseur.

 

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Après avoir réussi ce cours, vous pourrez :

  • reconnaître l’importance de cultiver et d’entretenir des rapports solides et professionnels avec les sources humaines;
  • reconnaître les facteurs de sécurité et de protection dans la gestion d’une source humaine;
  • indiquer les modalités administratives nécessaires pour matriculer des informateurs confidentiels, consigner les rencontres avec eux, leur verser des paiements, recouvrer des dépenses et assurer la participation du superviseur;
  • indiquer la façon de composer avec certaines situations difficiles;
  • reconnaître la façon dont des renseignements confidentiels peuvent mener à l’obtention de preuves;
  • indiquer les politiques qui régissent la gestion professionnelle et éthique de sources humaines.

 

Public cible

Ce cours est conçu à l’intention des agents de police.

 

Fournisseur du contenu

Ce cours a été élaboré par le Groupe de recrutement du programme des sources humaines (GRPSH) et la Sous-direction de l’apprentissage et du perfectionnement de la GRC.


Prix: 50$

Fournisseur de contenu: GRC – Groupe de recrutement du programme des sources humaines

Langue: Anglais / Français

Durée: 4 heures


Date de lancement: 2016-09-22